NAST PHL Conduct First Virtual Paper Presentation of NESA 2020 Winners

The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL), together with the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), conducted it’s first ever Virtual Paper Presentation of the winners of NAST Environmental Science Award (NESA) 2020 via Zoom and Facebook Live last July 24, 2020.

DR. EMILY Q. ESPIRITU has contributed with great impact to environmental science throughout her career. She is a known expert in water quality and water pollution and is a pioneer in the field of Ecotoxicology in the country. Her researches on different environment pollutants, particularly microplastics, have raise awareness and insights in its effect to the environment.

NESA 2020 winner, Dr. Emilyn Q. Espiritu of Ateneo de Manila, presented her winning research entitled, “Assessment of quantity and quality of microplastics in the sediments, waters, oysters, and selected fish species in key site along the Bombong Estuary and coastal waters of Ticalan in San Juan, Batangas”.

DR. ANTHONY F. CHIU made significant contributions to the country and to the international community through his environmental expertise. He pioneered the Philippine and Asia Pacific eco-industrial park development and developed the Asia Pacific EID Continuum Concept through UNEP-UNDP-DTI. As early as 2000s, he placed Philippines in the radar of social mapping of EID publications worldwide. He has presented his authored publications in global resource material flow assessment and stock (MFA), decoupling theory, energy, and urbanization, and energy transportation to the Head of State at UN Environmental Assembly.

DR. IAN A. NAVARRETE has made significant contributions particularly in his studies on the understanding of the carbon stock of mangrove forests, which is an important focus of conservation initiatives and climate change studies. Aside from this, he is exceptionally productive in his scientific
career with his published influential journals
in the field of environmental soil science
and agriculture. He is an Editor-in-Chief
and member of an editorial board in a
journal in tropical research in the country
and as referee for high impact international

This year’s NESA Special Citations, Dr. Anthony S.F Chiu of De La Salle University and Dr. Ian A. Navarrete of Southern Leyte State University – Hinunangan, also presented their papers.

Dr. Chiu’s paper is entitled, “Resource efficiency of the Philippine economy: A material flow accounting perspective (1955-2016)” and Dr. Navarrete’s paper is entitled, “The role of reactive iron in long-term carbon sequestration in mangrove sediments: Implications on “blue carbon” estimates in Philippine mangroves”.

NESA, formerly known as NAST-Hugh Greenwood Environmental Science Award, was first established in 2001 as part of the celebration of the World Earth Day. It’s also the Academy’s answer to the rapid pace of environmental degradation and the possible eventual depletion of natural resources by recognizing outstanding scientific and technological research works that have significant contributions to environmental protection and conservation in the country.

Lead by the efforts of National Scientist Perla D. Santos Ocampo, the late NAST PHL president, NESA was established through the help of philanthropist and founder of the Children’s Research Fund, Dr. Hugh Greenwood.

NAST PHL President and Chair of the NESA Board of Judges, Academician Rhodora V. Azanza and Member of NESA Board of Judges, Academician Guillermo Q. Tabios III, also joined the Virtual Paper Presentation.

The event was moderated by 2019 Outstanding Young Scientist, Dr. Patricia Ann J. Sanchez.

Dr. Espiritu received a plaque, cash incentive from the NAST PHL, and is also entitled to 2 Million pesos research grant from the DOST. The special citations also received a plaque and cash incentive from NAST PHL.

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like